A Midsummer Night’s Dream is a famous play written by Shakespeare in 1595. It all started when Hermia rejected her arranged-marriage and flees to the forest with her love, Lysander. Her BFF, Helena, loves the Demetrius, who hates her but loves Hermia. This complicated love triangle… I mean square, results in further chaos with the preparations for a royal wedding and the fairies’ mischief.

Before we get any further, let’s take a look at what all of you have been waiting for: the love square. May I present:

The Complicated Love Square

Okay. So how do ya feel? Yes, Shakespeare has made it very… complicated. Anyways, let’s continue on. You know that sometimes in school you have to write a literary analysis for English? Well, I had to, and boy was I annoyed. But, I did it, and so if you feel the same for literary analysis as me, then I gotcha. Here is a sample of mine. I don’t know if it is legit, but oh well.

Compare & Contrast

Shakespeare’s romance-comedy A Midsummer Night’s Dream shows readers that Hermia and Helena have similar goals, but have different ways to achieve them. The two women have different personality traits. Helena self shames that

I am as ugly as a bear ~ Act III Scene I Line 94

Since both of them pursue for love, one receives all while the other gathers no attention, causing her to have low self-esteem. Negative self-talk show on forges with jealousy down deep. Also, Helena begging that

The more you beat me, I will fawn on you ~ Act 2 Scene 1 line 204

shows how desperate both wish to be loved. Helena yet gives Demetrius chance after chance while Hermia willingly ran away with Lysander despite of strict protocols. Desperation links to amount of self-esteem when one does or does not receive what they desire for.

One cannot be who they wish to be before accepting and being themselves first.

So there you go! I hope that had sparked some inspiration, or just made your world a bit more Shakespeare-er. Have a nice day and start to your spring break guys, and you’ll hear from me soon. XD

<3,

Kimberly

Credit:

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1622.A_Midsummer_Night_s_Dream

2 thoughts on “Shakespeare: Hermia vs. Helena

Leave a Reply

